Matt Suffness Award

Nominations are being accepted for 2018

The Matt Suffness (Young Investigators Symposium) Award, is intended to recognize the contributions of younger natural product scientists, and to provide a special, timely forum for them to present results from their research at the annual ASP meeting. The Award also recognizes and honors the memory of Dr. Matt Suffness. Dr. Suffness served as the Society’s President in 1989-1990, during which time he initiated the “Young Investigator’s Symposium” which now bears his name. Born in Staten Island, N.Y., Dr. Suffness received his B.S. degree in Pharmacy from Howard University and a Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Chemistry from the University of Wisconsin under the mentorship of the late natural products authority, Dr. S. Morris Kupchan. In 1970-71, he did postdoctoral work at Stanford University with Prof. E.E. van Tamelen. After beginning his career as an Assistant, then Associate Professor at Ohio Northern University, Dr. Suffness joined the Natural Products Branch in the Developmental Therapeutics Program of the National Cancer Institute in 1976. In 1981 he became chief of the Natural Products Branch and was responsible for the major collection contracts that were initiated by the NCI. He also served as the first coordinator for the National Cooperative Natural Product Drug Discovery Group Program. He is best known for his commitment to the development of taxol as an anticancer drug. He edited the book entitled “Taxol—Science and Applications,” which was published shortly before his death in 1995. Friends and colleagues remember his tireless support of natural product research, his efforts to facilitate multidisciplinary research efforts and his accessibility and sound advice. He was particularly helpful to younger investigators trying to establish a successful research program and career. The Norman R. Farnsworth Research Achievement and Matt Suffness Young Investigator’s Award Committee has been charged with the selection according to the following procedure and criteria:

• The number of speakers per year shall be limited to one, but may be none if suitable nominations are not received in a particular year.

• Nominees must be ASP members.

• Nominees shall be within 12 years of receiving their Ph.D., and within 10 years of gaining their first independent position (e.g., Assistant Professor or equivalent position in industry or government).

• A nomination must be accompanied by the nominee’s CV, an abstract of the presentation proposed by the nominee, and relevant reprints (maximum of 4). Selected speakers will be invited to submit a short review paper to the Journal of Natural Products.

• Nominations will be solicited in the Newsletter, on the Website, and from recipients of the Research Achievement Award. Any current member of the ASP may submit nominations, however, self-nominations will not be accepted.

• The Norman R. Farnsworth Research Achievement and Matt Suffness Young Investigator’s Award Committee must keep in close contact with the appropriate ASP meeting Scientific Program Committee.

• The deadline for nominations for this award is February 15.

The Matt Suffness Award consists of complimentary Registration at the annual meeting of the ASP and $2,000 to help offset the costs associated with travel and attendance at the conference. 

Applications should be submitted via email to the Chair of the The Norman R. Farnsworth Research Achievement and Matt Suffness Young Investigator’s Award Committee –

Past Suffness Award Recipients

  • 2000 – Barry O’Keefe, Ben Shen
  • 2001 – Brad Moore
  • 2002 – Roberto G. S. Berlinck, Mark S. Butler
  • 2003 – Seiichi Matsuda, Marcel Jaspars
  • 2004 – Jorn Piel, Jon S. Thorson
  • 2005 – Dale Nagle, Nicholas Oberlies
  • 2006 – Taifo Mahmud
  • 2008 – Thomas Prisinzano
  • 2009 – Shengmin Sang
  • 2010 – Eric Schmidt
  • 2011 – Pieter C. Dorrestein
  • 2012 – Phil Williams
  • 2013 – Kerry McPhail
  • 2014 – Roger Linington
  • 2015 – John MacMillan
  • 2016 – Harald Gross
  • 2017 – Katherine Ryan